Need help submitting your writing to literary journals or book publishers/literary agents? Click here! →

Client Testimonials

2005

Our author’s submission service assists writers of poems, short stories, essays, and book manuscripts in getting their work published. We work very hard to promote our clients’ work. Letters from clients follow below. (Originals with signatures available upon request.)

Read third-party testimonials on LinkedIn.

October 10, 2005

Dear Ronnie:

I was stymied, did not know how best to begin the daunting task of getting my poetry published. I had great difficulty obtaining addresses of journals, much less names of editors. And reading cycles was an unknown for me. Furthermore, I was not steeled for the barrage of rejection slips I knew would fill my mailbox. I’m delighted to report that Writer’s Relief solved these problems for me, allowing me to concentrate my time and energy on creating and writing. I received an acceptance within a few months of starting my submissions with your help. You have also kept my momentum rolling by imposing deadlines that I would never have imposed on myself. Oh, and did I mention how your staff has been not only helpful and efficient, but positive, friendly, and cheerful as well. Great work, Ronnie and the rest of the Writer’s Relief staff!

Sincerely,

Wes Sims

September 30, 2005

Dear Ronnie:

I want you to know how helpful Writer’s Relief has been to me. For several years I tried to publish my short stories on my own but had no success. I was discouraged and finding it increasingly difficult to write freely and faithfully.

I became a client of Writer’s Relief in April 2005. Within three months, one of my stories was accepted at Cimarron Review.

I know that there will be many rejections ahead, but the acceptance Writer’s Relief helped me secure is invaluable. I write now with new hope and excitement.

Thank you so much,

Susan C. Greenfield

September 15, 2005

Dear Ronnie:

Another acceptance arrived in the mail this evening—my eighth in half a year, thanks to your expert assistance. What a delight to finally be getting published.

Thank you again for your patience and persistence in working with me.

Sincerely,

Stan Badgett

September 7, 2005

Dear Ronnie:

Here’s what I like about Writer’s Relief:

1. On the first submission I got six poems accepted by one publication and one poem accepted by two publications—they were all great journals.

2. Whoever I talk to on the phone handles my questions.

3. Faxing my stuff is responded to promptly.

4. The system is easy; directions are clear.

5. Everybody should use such a service. It works. It’s worth the cost.

Sincerely,

Portia Cornell

August 31, 2005

Dear Ronnie:

I’m not one for the “writing” industry. However, working with Writer’s Relief has been a pleasure. Your keen eyes and attention to detail make my writing, my work, stronger and more precise. It’s as though you have found the right typesetting in old press that has churned out my work.

The results have been immediate and pleasant. The readers are attentive and the deadlines powerful. Everything you claim, you produce, and that is a rarity in this day.

Sincerely,

Michael Deragon

August 29, 2005

Dear Ronnie:

For a person like myself, Writer’s Relief is a godsend. Your skills are in three areas.

First of all, you know where to submit pieces.

Secondly, you know what format a piece should be submitted in. The world of literature has changed dramatically from the days when Herman Melville could write a piece in longhand, or F. Scott Fitzgerald could plunk away on a typewriter. Good art is good art, no matter how poorly formatted, but editors have formats they like and have limited time. If formatted correctly, the odds that my work will be read increase dramatically.

Finally, your people know how to proofread! I would put my odds of ever submitting to them a perfect manuscript at under one percent. I’m just thankful that none of them were ever my high school English teacher, for the entire school would never have passed 11th grade.

There’s an added bonus. You are nice people to work with, polite, and cooperative. I started writing recently, and I’m going to be published shortly in the Heartlands magazine. I couldn’t have done it without your help.

Regards,

Dennis Nau

August 25, 2005

Dear Ronnie:

Yes, it is true, using Writer’s Relief services can and will lead to publishing. Why? Because you are totally free to write, write, and improve your writing, if you are so inclined. I simply do not have the time to search out places to submit and keep track of submission responses. Like everyone else I know, I work full time. I am a mother and teacher full time, and a cellist part-time. I love my life and Writer’s Relief is part of it.

Sincerely,

Judith DeBrosse

August 23, 2005

Dear Ronnie:

I discovered Writer’s Relief a year ago, and how I wish I’d done so sooner! Since then, I’ve had a short story accepted for publication (twice!) and a number of encouraging notes from editors requesting to see more of my work. Staff members are terrific: savvy, helpful, and extremely nice. This wonderful group has pulled me out of the swamp of not submitting work—or submitting it ineptly. And knowing my stories need not go unread has charged up flagging creative energy. “Relief” is a well-chosen word.

Sincerely,

Susan Bryant

August 22, 2005

Dear Ronnie:

I am impressed with the Writer’s Relief service. It allows me to focus on writing while you concentrate on all the logistics of the submission process. This is the best thing I have done for my work, an investment in my career. Within a few short months, I was able to send out five stories, and two have been accepted. I highly recommend your service to anyone wishing to advance their writing careers.

Sincerely,

Rosalia Scalia

August 20, 2005

Dear Ronnie:

I am so grateful to you and your staff, and for my affiliation with Writer’s Relief. After writing my first book, The World: Poetic Connections, I felt the need to submit to literary journals, but I just did not have the time to pore through Poet’s Market and sift through publication guidelines, submission times, genres of work; I was overwhelmed.

I am happy to report that I have had great response to the announcement that two of my poems are to be published in Westview, two poems are to be published in Catfish Stew, and that I have been accepted as a juried member of the S.C. Arts Commission’s Artists in Education program. Also, I have a publisher for my second book, Gravity, due for publication in Spring 2006.

Once again, I thank you, and I look forward to working with you on a continuing basis.

Yours in poetry,

Janet Carr Hull

August 20, 2005

Dear Ronnie:

I’ve discovered that, unlike my painter friends who hang their work in their studios and homes, my manuscripts look ridiculous hanging on my walls. The stories have to get out! It’s not enough to write the pieces; they must find a home. Writer’s Relief serves as an assistant and ally in ferreting out the most appropriate journals for your work. More time for a writer and her muse to do what they do best. I’m very pleased to have Writer’s Relief on my side.

Sincerely,

Elizabeth Appell

August 18, 2005

Dear Ronnie:

As a writer new to the world of publishing, Writer’s Relief has been nothing short of a godsend. Those same qualities that have marked me as a creative person (dreaminess, introvertedness, tendency to tune out the outside world) left me at a loss when it came time to start marketing and submitting my short stories. Writer’s Relief not only manages my account with admirable precision, but everything comes back through my hands, so I’m actually learning as I go along. Within months of working with you, I received my first acceptance letter from a well-established literary journal. My work is forthcoming in theSouth Carolina Review. My gratitude overflows.

Sincerely,

Clarissa Romano

August 4, 2005

Dear Ronnie:

I have been writing for 15 years and had arrived at the point of believing I would never get the break all writers desire. With no college education, the only thing I had to hold onto for assurance that I really was a writer was my love for writing. I would send submissions to publisher after publisher, agent after agent, and what felt like hundreds of rejections (but was in reality only six or seven) would slowly appear in my mailbox.

When I approached Writer’s Relief, I was very hesitant, as there are so many con artists out there today. But the staff at Writer’s Relief immediately put me at ease with their professionalism. If I had a question, all I had to do was call. When using the services of Writer’s Relief to send submissions, the rejections were so much easier to take. It seemed there wasn’t near the blood, sweat, and tears put into the queries as there had been before. The stress of getting everything “just right” was gone. The stress of searching and giving up valuable time disappeared. Writer’s Relief took that stress from me and made responses so much easier to take.

Now, just three months after hiring Writer’s Relief, I have an agent, a contract for two books, and I am on my way. The best part of all of this is knowing Writer’s Relief is still there to help me through.

I highly recommend Writer’s Relief and will continue to use your services.

Sincerely,

Tena Green

August 4, 2005

Dear Ronnie:

I have been writing for 15 years and had arrived at the point of believing I would never get the break all writers desire. With no college education, the only thing I had to hold onto for assurance that I really was a writer was my love for writing. I would send submissions to publisher after publisher, agent after agent, and what felt like hundreds of rejections (but was in reality only six or seven) would slowly appear in my mailbox.

When I approached Writer’s Relief, I was very hesitant, as there are so many con artists out there today. But the staff at Writer’s Relief immediately put me at ease with their professionalism. If I had a question, all I had to do was call. When using the services of Writer’s Relief to send submissions, the rejections were so much easier to take. It seemed there wasn’t near the blood, sweat, and tears put into the queries as there had been before. The stress of getting everything “just right” was gone. The stress of searching and giving up valuable time disappeared. Writer’s Relief took that stress from me and made responses so much easier to take.

Now, just three months after hiring Writer’s Relief, I have an agent, a contract for two books, and I am on my way. The best part of all of this is knowing Writer’s Relief is still there to help me through.

I highly recommend Writer’s Relief and will continue to use your services.

Sincerely,

Tena Green

August 2, 2005

Dear Ronnie:

As a new writer it has been extremely gratifying to have my work accepted for publication. I’m certain this is due to Writer’s Relief’s professional efforts.

Sincerely,

Patricia Polak

July 29, 2005

Dear Ronnie and all the staff at Writer’s Relief,

I am so pleased to have just signed a contract with a New York agent to represent me. Having already been through the writing and publishing process before, I can attest to the wonderful service you provided me throughout this process. It is hard to believe that in a few short months my manuscript was edited, my query letter prepared, and nearly 60 targeted agents received my packet. Even the rejection letters were often supportive, encouraging, and instructive. Instead of dreading the prospect of selling my work, you and your team have structured a wonderful and simple way to get it done.

Thank you,

Kay Goldstein

July 29, 2005

Dear Ronnie and all the staff at Writer’s Relief,

I am so pleased to have just signed a contract with a New York agent to represent me. Having already been through the writing and publishing process before, I can attest to the wonderful service you provided me throughout this process. It is hard to believe that in a few short months my manuscript was edited, my query letter prepared, and nearly 60 targeted agents received my packet. Even the rejection letters were often supportive, encouraging, and instructive. Instead of dreading the prospect of selling my work, you and your team have structured a wonderful and simple way to get it done.

Thank you,

Kay Goldstein

July 12, 2005

Dear Ronnie:

Without Writer’s Relief I doubt I would ever have been published. Now I have five short stories that have already been or are in the process of being published, thanks to Writer’s Relief. One would be well-advised to use your services.

Sincerely,

Henry Miller

June 28, 2005

Dear Ronnie:

Fifteen years ago I decided to “become” a writer. Over that time I wrote fiction and poetry, and I found an agent for my memoir. What I did not do was get published. Finally, like an alcoholic, I had to admit I was powerless alone and needed serious help and support if I was ever to achieve my goal. It wasn’t easy sending that first letter of inquiry because it felt like admitting failure. To my great and continuing relief, what I received in response was support, structure, timely and useful advice, and a cheerful voice on the phone. Within two months, my poetry was accepted by two established literary journals, The South Carolina Review and Poet Lore.

In addition, the expectation that I will continue to produce and send work on a predictable schedule has kept me writing even though my life has been going through a period of great personal upheaval.

I can’t thank you enough for your wonderful service.

Sincerely,

Christine Kravetz

June 27, 2005

Dear Ronnie:

I am really grateful to a wonderful staff at Writer’s Relief for their thoughtful and knowledgeable approach to publishing. Being associated with people at Writer’s Relief I found attentive friends, high-level professionals who know the market very well and understand the psychology of editors and readers. I was able to publish more due to constant support and advice from the Writer’s Relief staff, and I never would be able to achieve that without them.

Sincerely,

Andrey Gritsman

June 21, 2005

Dear Ronnie:

Thank you so very much for the wonderful services you rendered to me, through which I have secured agent representation for my first novel. I’m looking forward to sending you more work as soon as it is ready.

Best regards,

Pina Pipino

June 21, 2005

Dear Ronnie:

Yesterday I received my second acceptance letter. I’ve only just submitted three stories through Writer’s Relief and recently had two of them accepted. I know this wouldn’t have happened so quickly without your help (if at all)! Needless to say, I am ecstatic about the results.

But more than that, I am impressed with the personal attention that I got when Barbara called me after I had forwarded an especially brutal rejection letter. Her call was so supportive and kind. I knew then that I was in good hands. Later, the story that had been so crassly rejected in one letter was accepted by a different magazine. But Barbara’s call kept me from despairing in the meantime.

The editorial and business services your company provides have been exceptional. The personal support was above and beyond my expectations. Thank you.

Sincerely,

Mika Yamamoto

June 21, 2005

Dear Ronnie:

Thank you so very much for the wonderful services you rendered to me, through which I have secured agent representation for my first novel. I’m looking forward to sending you more work as soon as it is ready.

Best regards,

Pina Pipino

June 17, 2005

Dear Ronnie,

I am pleased and honored to write about your wonderful resource, Writer’s Relief. As you know, I have been involved with Writer’s Relief for quite a few years. Over this time, I have gone from writing poetry to articles, to short stories and novels. What has really impressed me, among many things, is the way your staff has quickly and effortlessly adapted to my ever-changing needs.

My poetry has been published in more than 30 literary journals. I have had the great pleasure of seeing a short story published, and I feel that if it were not for your focus and constant organization of my work, then I would have never succeeded in either format.

Now, my biggest challenge has been to get my novel published. As usual, your leadership in selecting just the right literary agents has resulted in me getting one of my very own. When I needed to understand what was acceptable in dealing with the agency, and also the revisions, you have been there for me with very important guidelines and advice.

I cannot stress how much you have helped me focus on the creative work, instead of the nuts and bolts aspects of getting published. And, of course, your packets that come to me like clockwork insure that I don’t get lazy, and that I keep writing.

I have spoken of your many charms to so many writers. Writer’s Relief is a vital and fabulous tool for me, and for any writer who actually wants to see his/her work in print. Thank you, as always, for helping me stick with my dream.

Best always,

Diane Lilli

June 17, 2005

Dear Ronnie,

I am pleased and honored to write about your wonderful resource, Writer’s Relief. As you know, I have been involved with Writer’s Relief for quite a few years. Over this time, I have gone from writing poetry to articles, to short stories and novels. What has really impressed me, among many things, is the way your staff has quickly and effortlessly adapted to my ever-changing needs.

My poetry has been published in more than 30 literary journals. I have had the great pleasure of seeing a short story published, and I feel that if it were not for your focus and constant organization of my work, then I would have never succeeded in either format.

Now, my biggest challenge has been to get my novel published. As usual, your leadership in selecting just the right literary agents has resulted in me getting one of my very own. When I needed to understand what was acceptable in dealing with the agency, and also the revisions, you have been there for me with very important guidelines and advice.

I cannot stress how much you have helped me focus on the creative work, instead of the nuts and bolts aspects of getting published. And, of course, your packets that come to me like clockwork ensure that I don’t get lazy, and that I keep writing.

I have spoken of your many charms to so many writers. Writer’s Relief is a vital and fabulous tool for me, and for any writer who actually wants to see his/her work in print. Thank you, as always, for helping me stick with my dream.

Best always,

Diane Lilli

June 17, 2005

Dear Ronnie,

My experience with Writer’s Relief so far has been excellent. The staff is first-rate, extremely approachable, reliable, and very knowledgeable about the writing industry and all the publications out there.

The deadlines and cycles help to enforce my discipline and force me to pursue the business of writing that I have often let slip behind.

Thanks again for everything,

Rich Smith

June 7, 2005

Dear Ronnie, Barbara, everyone else at Writer’s Relief,

In September 2001, two years after reviving an interest in writing that dated back to my early teens, I reached a turning point. I had made up my mind to write, but I also wanted to see my work published. I realistically weighed the amount of time I could devote to writing versus work and family responsibilities and concluded that if I wanted to be a published writer, I was going to have to reach out for help. That’s how I found Writer’s Relief.

In the four years I have been a Writer’s Relief client, I have grown from a writer with two short stories and a half-completed first-draft novel to a published writer with nine stories, a poem in print, and two novels that have circulated among agents. I credit Writer’s Relief with being a working partner in my writing career. Its dedicated editors and marketing professionals have guided my work to magazines that want my stories. They have helped me place a top-notch edited and formatted manuscript in front of an agent.

Writer’s Relief’s two-month writing and submission schedule has transformed me from a writer with vague goals and an uncertain plan for achieving them to a writer with the discipline to write, rewrite, and meet deadlines. With Writer’s Relief’s help, I have managed to map out a year’s worth of writing goals and then stick to it.

Writer’s Relief’s wide array of fiction submission options has prompted me to explore poetry and short fiction—a writing style that landed one of my stories in two publications.

Writer’s Relief edited and formatted my manuscript so that I was ready to deliver my work in the most professional form possible when an agent responded favorably to the query letter and synopsis Writer’s Relief help me craft. Thanks to WR’s skill in aiding me in agent queries, I have landed an agent who is preparing to submit my novel to publishers.

I think I’m probably like every writer when I admit to fantasizing about scribbling words down on paper, mailing them to an agent or publisher, and receiving an adoring call begging me to produce more golden pages.

The reality, as every working writer knows, is that growing as a writer means writing on a regular schedule, reading voraciously, and gratefully receiving the support of quality editing and marketing professionals. As far as I’m concerned, those pros work for Writer’s Relief.

Sincerely and with grateful appreciation,

Thor Jourgensen

April 13, 2005

Hi Ronnie,

I just wanted to let you know how pleased I have been with Writer’s Relief. I have a Master’s Degree in Creative Writing from Brown University and have published two books for children, but have never really had the energy to try to send out my poems. Every time I thought about the process, I was overwhelmed with the idea of trying to track all the reading dates, submissions, rejections, and so on. Now that I’m using Writer’s Relief for my poetry, I am writing more than ever. I simply do the writing, and you guys do all the clerical work. Most writers never have the pleasure of having a “personal assistant,” but now I’ve got one—you! I’ve recently had two poems accepted for publication in Poet Lore and interest in my work from other publications.

Thank you so much for simplifying the business end of writing so I can focus on the creative work.

Best,

Adrienne Keith

March 7, 2005

Dear Ronnie, Barbara, and everyone else at Writer’s Relief:

Writer’s Relief not only changed my life as a writer but changed my life. Over the seven years we’ve been together, you’ve sold at least eighty percent of my stories, and I’m starting to get a name for myself. Your editing is the very best; no matter how perfect I think a piece is, you always manage to find ways to improve it—which I appreciate. And, despite your booming client base, you always take time to talk to me when I need friendly advice. What an amazingly well-run organization.

I don’t know what I would do without you.

Sincerely,

Gary Buslik

March 7, 2005

Dear Ronnie

It has been a pleasure working with you, Meg, Barbara, and Maria. Although I have been widely published and was forewarned that it might take a while to get published, I was very pleased that a fine publication like Phantasmagoria accepted two of my poems that were sent in my first batch of poems shortly after receiving my mailing. Your cover letter was very impressive and to the point, keeping in mind that editors are busy and just want the facts.

I am happy to add this magazine to my other publications which include: Paterson Literary Review, Main Street Rag, Green Hills Literary Lantern, The Pedestal Magazine, and Identity Theory.

I have a very busy schedule, which includes writing a weekly newspaper poetry column and giving poetry readings, so I am happy that Meg and others at Writer’s Relief have been able to eliminate some of the headaches that go along with submissions. Thank you for doing a fine job.

Sincerely,

J. Thompson

February 25, 2005

Dear Ronnie:

Writer’s Relief has been an absolute godsend for me; and believe me, I have chosen that word carefully! First, you have produced results in very short order, placing some of my newest work in a fine academic poetry journal—and one that I likely would have overlooked. In the past, I spent as much time agonizing over the business of submission as I did writing. Not so any longer, thanks to Writer’s Relief. In fact, during a recent fellowship period at the Virginia Center on the Creative Arts, I was never once distracted by thoughts of placement. As a result, I know the volume of my work increased (in comparison to my previous fellowship at VCCA before my association with Writer’s Relief); I believe the quality is better as well.

Time will tell on that . . . as Writer’s Relief tells me the best markets for placement. Thank you for all you do to keep this one poet on track!

Sincerely,

Peggy Ingraham

February 24, 2005

Dear Ronnie:

Thank you so much for your help with placing my stories and essays. Although I received an MFA in Writing from Vermont College a few years ago, my full-time job does not allow me the time to research journals and magazines that would publish my work.

I am very pleased with your service. It frees me up, sets deadlines, and introduces me to magazines and journals I’ve never heard of before.

Besides my full-time job teaching special education, I teach Memoir Writing classes at Pasadena City College. I have highly recommended your services to my students.

Sincerely,

Arlene Eisenberg

February 24, 2005

Dear Ronnie and all the wonderful staff at Writer’s Relief:

Many thanks for adding a new dimension to my life. As a closet writer, I never knew just what to do with my work. The notion of sending it out was just too daunting. Where? Which Journal? When? I was clueless.

Then I saw your ad and figured I’d give it a shot. I sent two short stories. Your staff was extremely professional. You demystified the process and helped me send out my first submission. As you know, three publications all offered to publish. It gave me a big head. (Also the courage to send you more of my work; it is on its way.)

As I said: Thank you, thank you, thank you.

Elaine Silverstein

February 24, 2005

Dear Ronnie:

Ask yourself a question: On any given day, what are the chances you will be published? If you have five submissions in circulation, you have five chances. And that’s nothing.

Writer’s Relief has taught me a great deal. The volume of submissions necessary is much larger than I ever believed. A writer must have a LOT of material circulating. Through Writer’s Relief, I’ve been able to do this to a far greater extent than I ever could have done on my own. I always know there’s a chance someone will accept a story because I have so many submissions in circulation. There’s always some hope, and it feels good. I’ve been accepted by two literary journals so far, and I believe more will come.

Writer’s Relief has done exactly what they said they would do, and in a very professional manner. Yes, it costs some money—but life is short, and those stories aren’t doing me any good if no one sees them. Writer’s Relief has been an excellent investment for me.

Sincerely,

Joe Canzano

February 23, 2005

Dear Ronnie:

Writer’s Relief has urged me to try my hand at acceptance in markets I would never have dared attempt on my own. While of course I’ve had my share of rejections, I have had work accepted in some venues I never would have dreamed would accept my work: such as Arts & Letters, Iron Horse Literary Review, Old Red Kimono, and South Carolina Review. The staff at Writer’s Relief is supportive, responsive, and professional. Bravo to them—and thanks.

Sincerely,

Karla Clark

February 23, 2005

Dear Ronnie:

I have been more than happy with the work done on my behalf by Writer’s Relief, and the great personal touch given to my submission letters. All my questions have been answered in a timely and professional manner, and I have felt from the beginning that both my career and creating a good reputation for me with agents and editors are important to Writer’s Relief. I can’t begin to put a value on the time Writer’s Relief has saved me on researching markets and keeping up-to-date with changes in submission guidelines, requirements, and contact people.

I recently received my first acceptance for a short essay thanks to Writer’s Relief. They talked me through the process of contracts and follow-up, and I appreciate so much the genuine pleasure they seemed to take in my success.

My submissions are always excellently prepared, and I am getting that way too! Thanks, Ronnie, Meg, and all. By taking on the responsibility of so much of the business-end of writing, you are making it possible for me to pursue my publication goals and remain a “writing” writer.

Sincerely,

Jen Frankel

February 15, 2005

Dear Friends at Writer’s Relief:

When I, a lifelong writer, finally admitted that publishing companies were not going to cold-call me because they were desperately short of material, I decided I had to make a move and get my work out there. I didn’t want to reach middle age and realize that I’d never given it an earnest try. I buckled down to query agents, but the process was disheartening and overwhelming, particularly since everything indicated that my chances of getting an agent to even see my material were slim. I had no good feel for which agents were appropriate. And I definitely didn’t have enough time to do a really thorough investigation or solicitation for myself. Then in an online search for agencies, I ran across the Writer’s Relief website and knew that this was the answer to my problem.

Thanks to Writer’s Relief’s invaluable assistance and above-and-beyond support, I was able to overcome two major obstacles: my own inertia and my “rejection-slip shock” (as Peanuts’ Snoopy used to call it). In just one cycle, you got my work out to 30 agents—more than I’d done in my whole life. Even when my queries were returned with “no thank you” on them, it still felt like a step in the right direction. I discovered to my surprise that having submissions turned down still makes you feel like a real and serious writer.

It didn’t happen overnight, but at last my work fell into the right hands, and now I am signed with a reputable and productive literary agency. Last week I heard myself say the most amazing sentence: “I need to mail a package to my agent.” It took me an hour to get the grin off my face! Actual publication hasn’t yet happened, but I’ve gotten further now than I ever would have with my writing languishing on dusty CD-ROMs, and instead of a daydream, it’s now a real possibility. I highly recommend your genuinely useful service to writers of all types, but particularly to any writing wallflowers, like myself, who need a little help in the nerve department. Writer’s Relief always made me feel that acceptance was just around the corner.

Yours very gratefully,

Christina Harlin

February 15, 2005

Dear Friends at Writer’s Relief,

When I, a life-long writer, finally admitted that publishing companies were not going to cold-call me because they were desperately short of material, I decided I had to make a move and get my work out there. I didn’t want to reach middle age and realize that I’d never given it an earnest try. I buckled down to query agents, but the process was disheartening and overwhelming, particularly since everything indicated that my chances of getting an agent to even see my material were slim. I had no good feel for what agents were appropriate. And I definitely didn’t have enough time to do really good investigation or solicitation for myself. Then in an on-line search for agencies, I ran across the Writer’s Relief website, and knew that this was the answer to my problem.

Thanks to Writer’s Relief’s invaluable assistance and above-and-beyond support, I was able to overcome two major obstacles: my own inertia and my “rejection-slip shock” (as Peanuts’ Snoopy used to call it). In just one cycle, you got my work out to thirty agents—more than I’d done in my whole life. Even when my queries were returned with “no thank you” on them, it still felt like a step in the right direction. I discovered to my surprise that having submissions turned down still makes you feel like a real and serious writer.

It didn’t happen overnight, but at last my work fell into the right hands, and now I am signed with a reputable and productive literary agency. Last week I heard myself say the most amazing sentence: “I need to mail a package to my agent.” It took me an hour to get the grin off my face! Actual publication hasn’t yet happened, but I’ve gotten further now than I ever would have with my writing languishing on dusty CD-ROMS, and instead of a daydream, it’s now a real possibility. I highly recommend your genuinely useful service to writers of all types, but particularly to any writing-wallflowers like myself, who need a little help in the nerve department. Writer’s Relief always made me feel that acceptance was just around the corner.

Your very gratefully,

Christina Harlin

January 18, 2005

Dear Ronnie,

Although I have loved to write since grammar school days and I had a good amount of encouragement along the way, once out of school, I chose a more “practical” line of work to consume most of each day. I stuck my poetry and short stories away in drawers and occasionally thought of what it would be like to be published, especially when I would read something that made me think, “I can write as well as this writer, and he/she is published!” I had always heard about how difficult it is to get published, though, and I had no idea how to go about it—until I heard about Writer’s Relief!

What I found at Writer’s Relief was a caring, encouraging group of professionals conducting a well-organized submission process with attention to all the many details that would defeat me in a week on my own. Instead, with Barbara’s assistance and prompt answers to even my most basic questions, I have had acceptances by Griffin and Compass Rose so far, with a number of submissions still outstanding. To say that this has renewed my interest in writing and given me a new sense of optimism is an understatement, and I can’t thank you enough for taking me by the hand and leading me down the road to seeing my work in print.

Sincerely,

Georgia Dorell

January 12, 2005

Dear Ronnie,

Writer’s Relief, to put it succinctly, saved my writing life. As a former book publishing executive, I knew the playing field, but nothing had prepared me—when I quit the corporate world to write full time—for the Byzantine universe of the literary magazine market. After spending more than a year researching these markets (and barely scratching the surface), instead of writing, I found Writer’s Relief, much to my relief.

Their market expertise has enabled me to resume my writing career with energy, zest, and success. My writing credits include North Atlantic Review, West Coast Review, California Quarterly, Mudfish, Red Rock Review, The New York Times, among many others. Ronnie Smith and her staff are indefatigable in their commitment to their clients. I count myself fortunate to be one of them.

Sincerely,

Gladys Justin Carr

January 7, 2005

To Whom It May Concern:

Writer’s Relief lives up to its name—it’s a relief to have someone share the burden of submitting manuscripts to potential publishers. For me, the most helpful service they provide is determining which publications are the most appropriate targets for my work. Previously, I spent untold hours—more like weeks—wading through directories and magazines to identify journals. Often, however, I found that the information I tracked down turned out to be out of date by the time I used it. Submission dates had moved. Guidelines had changed. Editors had moved or died. And some information—like getting a sense of what kind of work a publication preferred—was simply not available short of doing an extensive study of the publication in question.

With Writer’s Relief, I feel confident that my work is going to all the right places. And the proof is in the pudding. After submitting my story, “Wallpaper,” to some 50 publications over the course of a year to no avail, it was quickly picked up by one of the targeted journals in its first cycle with Writer’s Relief.

I also find the printing of cover letters and labels to be a great time-saver. While these tasks seem easy enough, the customization required takes a tremendous amount of time, time better spent on writing—and it’s a complete bore.

Sincerely,

William Fowkes

January 5, 2005

Dear Ronnie,

Writer’s Relief has helped me spend what little spare time I have on writing, rather than on the nuts and bolts of manuscript preparation and placement. They take care of making my work look its best and placing it in front of the right editors for their consideration. Through their services my short stories have been published in such markets as The MacGuffin and Old Red Kimono. The staff is pleasant, responsive, and professional to work with. They take a genuine interest in their clients’ success.

Ronnie, Happy New Year to you and your team!

Nancy Dugan






Learn More
Live Chat Software

WAIT! BEFORE YOU LEAVE

wrlogo
This page was chock-full of great info...
and there's so much more here to help you meet your publishing goals!

Be sure to sign up for our FREE guides as you enter each site.

CHECK OUT
SELF-PUBLISHING RELIEF
For advice, marketing ideas, and step-by-step guidance through the self-publishing process!

CHECK OUT
WEB DESIGN RELIEF
Featuring smart ways to boost your online presence, build your author website, or improve your existing website.

CHECK OUT
WRITER'S RELIEF
For everything you need to know about writing, preparing, and targeting submissions to literary agents and editors!


Free Publishing Leads and Tips

Our e-publication, Submit Write Now!, will be delivered weekly to your inbox.

Join the 50,000+ writers who receive:

  • FREE submission tips
  • Hot publishing leads
  • Calls to submit
  • And much more!

Close this popup

Sign up Today!

BONUS: Receive a free copy of formatting guidelines—our gift to you!

We promise not to share your information.