Need help submitting your writing to literary journals or book publishers/literary agents? Click here! →

Client Testimonials

à la carte

Our author’s submission service assists writers of poems, short stories, essays, and book manuscripts in getting their work published. We work very hard to promote our clients’ work. Letters from clients follow below. (Originals with signatures available upon request.)

Read third-party testimonials on LinkedIn.

June 6, 2016

My last story was accepted with your help — I’m very happy! I couldn’t find the time to do what you’ve done for me. I think this service is amazing and invaluable.

Linda S.

February 17, 2016

Dear Writer’s Relief,

I wanted to share the good news with everyone at Writer’s Relief that my essay “Names” has been accepted by Hot Metal Bridge! Thank you all so much for helping me find a home for this beloved essay!

Pat H.

May 26, 2015

Dear Writer’s Relief,

You did a great job on the list. I got an offer from the first agent I queried (Jennifer Lyons)!

Yours,

James B.

March 5, 2015

Dear Writer’s Relief,

I just got fantastic news! One of my poems was accepted by The McNeese Review, which is one of the publications you advised me to pursue. Thank you for your help and your expertise. I’m so very grateful.

All my best,

Liz K.

October 24, 2014

Dear Writer’s Relief,

I just wanted to let you know how things have gone. The piece you helped me place has been just been published! I’ve had very positive comments and interest in seeing other pieces from quite a few journals, as well.

Thanks for giving me the insights I needed to get things rolling.

Cathy H.

September 16, 2014

I recently took advantage of Writer’s Relief A La Carte Program. As an emerging writer I had essays I wanted to publish, but I was overwhelmed with the number of online and print literary magazines available. The A La Carte service provided me with 25 personally selected journals to submit to. I was thrilled to have an essay selected for publication. I highly recommend Writer’s Relief for their prompt helpfulness and professionalism.  I intend to use their services again.

Jean W.

April 12, 2014

Dear Writer’s Relief Crew:

Thank you for all your hard work. You guys are just what I needed to get this into high gear. I have sent out all queries and have begun the waiting game. I have already received a request for the complete manuscript and, of course, one rejection. Now, I guess I have no excuses to get started on the next novel. You all are rock stars! Thanks again.

Sincerely,

Lisa B.

April 4, 2014

I have received one acceptance so far! I’m so grateful for being able to submit to so many places. A real break-through for me. I will definitely use your services again. Next time for my fiction!

Vicky L.

March 12, 2014

Dear Writer’s Relief,

Just wanted to let you know the good news after using your A La Carte Service. My essay “Nothing Gold Can Stay” has been accepted by Portland Review! Thank you everyone at Writers Relief!!

Best,

Pat H.

November 27, 2013

I’d like to take a moment to say thanks to you and the team. I just received an acceptance from The Saint Ann’s Review for their upcoming January issue, which will give me 4 published stories! I could not have achieved this without your help.

Iromie W.

November 22, 2013

I just wanted to share with you that thanks to Writer’s Relief, I’m about to be published for the first time. I received notice on Saturday that my story “Matryoshka” was accepted for publication by Providence College’s literary journal The Alembic. This occurred after only 8 rejection letters. You guys rock. No sooner than I complete my other stories will I be asking you to help me place them. I’m so glad I found you.

Kamaria R.

November 12, 2013

Dear Writer’s Relief,

I have used [your A La Carte service] to place two pieces of my work, and I now have a third piece ready for submission.

My second piece was published in Witness magazine. I would never have submitted my piece to such a prestigious magazine, so I very much appreciate your services.

Sincerely,

Nina R.

January 16, 2013

When I was ready to submit my first short story, the huge volume of options was encouraging but ultimately overwhelming. Writer’s Relief quickly sifted through those options to identify the best matches, and they did their work well: My story has been accepted for publication in Cutbank! I couldn’t be more pleased, and I’ll certainly return to Writer’s Relief with my next piece.

Tami S.

August 13, 2012

Dear Writer’s Relief:

You told me to keep trying. You told me I’d get a pile of rejection letters. You told me that the ratio of queries to acceptances is somewhere north of 100-1. Easier to get into an Ivy League school.

All true. But the first piece of advice was the one that kept me going for over a year. And it ended in success. My short story about an Iraqi veteran who finds a burglar in his home, shoots him dead, and then has flashbacks to his agonizing combat experiences found a home in MilSpeak, a magazine with a largely military audience. I won’t get paid, but at least I have the satisfaction of communicating to others the often severe psychological problems which combat veterans face when they return to “the world.” I hope some civilians read my story, learn what our warriors experience, and feel some empathy toward them.

Thank you, Writer’s Relief.

Robert F.

July 1, 2012

As a writer, part-time grad student and full-time employee, I don’t have a lot of time. After years of writing short stories without putting meaningful effort into getting published, I finally decided to get help. I reached out to Writer’s Relief. In a very short time, their A La Carte Service has made a huge difference–the first two pieces I sent out for consideration (one fiction, one nonfiction) led to two publications. Their system effectively targets appropriate publishing venues. Nothing is more exciting than getting a “you’ve been accepted” letter. And I’ve recently had the great problem of getting the same piece accepted twice within a few days. I’m a believer.

Sylvie B.

March 30, 2012

Dear Writer’s Relief,

Here is the link to the essay I never would have gotten published without the help of Writer’s Relief!!

Watermark

Again, heartfelt thanks to all!!

Pat H.

August 28, 2011

Dear Writer’s Relief:

I have definitely been recommending Writer’s Relief to other serious writers I know. I used the A La Carte Plus service to submit a group of four poems. This was my first serious attempt at publishing my work, and based on the industry information I gleaned from WR, my goal was to see one poem picked up during my first round. I am happy to say that–with WR’s expertise–I met this goal! More importantly, working with WR has erased my fear of rejection *and* helped me to get my work out there in a strategic, professional way. I am now starting my second and third submission cycles as an A La Carte Plus client, and I’m excited to see what pieces get accepted next!

Thank you!

K. A.

August 15, 2011

Dear Ronnie:

I began using Writer’s Relief at the suggestion of a friend. I had recently received my MFA in creative writing and was unfamiliar with the avenues available to me for publishing my essays. I was also anxious to keep writing and didn’t want the process of “marketing” my work to keep me away from creating it, especially so soon out of school.

The staff at Writer’s Relief provided me with a researched list of literary journals selected for their potential interest in the kind of essay I had written. The list was also created based on the specific submission calendar of each publication. Writer’s Relief also proofread the piece for me and provided cover letters as well as the mailing labels. All this represented significant time that I would have had to spend away from writing. My essay was accepted by an online journal. I plan on using Writer’s Relief again soon.

Joyce K.

November 4, 2010

Thanks to Writer’s Relief for the guidance, journal targeting, and labels you provided. And how nice to have an acceptance in the first batch of poems mailed out! I especially appreciated the quick personal responses when I had questions. Keep up the good work… We writers need all the help we can get!

Nancy N.

April 22, 2010

Thanks so much for your help with my last two submissions. I had only published a little before I got my MFA, and two years have passed since then, with nothing to show for it. I knew I wasn’t submitting my stories enough, but I wasn’t sure what to do about it. What free time I had was spent writing. Then I heard from a friend about Writer’s Relief and put it on my Christmas list. Thanks to Santa, I was able to use the A La Carte Plus service with one story and A La Carte with the other. Within two months, both stories had been accepted! I appreciated the personalized attention, as well as the time saved. I’m grateful, too, for the perspective you brought to bear on the questions I had upon acceptance. The collective experience of your client base is, by definition, much greater than my own. Gaining access to that in the form of your good advice is a real help. Thanks again!

Thanks,

Karyn W.

October 16, 2009

Hi Ronnie,

I just wanted to let you guys know that after two A La Carte targeted mailings, I received an acceptance e-mail for my short story, “Book Man,” from The MacGuffin of Schoolcraft College in Livonia, Michigan, for publication in their Spring/Summer 2010 issue. They will be sending the formal letter and agreement shortly (their words). I’d like to thank all of you at Writer’s Relief for making this so easy. An acceptance in less than 60 markets is pretty good; especially with 15 who still have not replied. I was contemplating another A La Carte round for the story, but now I’ll polish up another story and let you target that for me. I know that nothing is final until you see it printed, but it just feels good to receive that first acceptance.

Thanks again, and I’ll stay in touch.

John D.

October 7, 2009

Dear Writer’s Relief,

I am a client using the A La Carte Plus service. I mailed out 26 copies of my story “Una Confronts Death” on August 3, 2009. By October 2, I had received six rejections. Then on October 3, I got an acceptance from Chaffin Journal.

Online, it looks great, and I had never heard about it before. I am very grateful to you for connecting me with them.

Sincerely,

Laura H.

September 30, 2009

Dear Ronnie,

I’ve sent submissions before, but usually one or two at a time, and many times I’ve had to pay a reading or entrance fee (many are for contests). Usually those submissions get rejected, and I give up for a while. This was the first time I invested in my writing and the payoff was well worth it. I realized that I was getting better return on my investment with the A La Carte service, because I was submitting to up to 30 publication at the same price I was spending on submitting to only four. Plus, it’s nice to have someone else do the research so I can focus on writing my material. Thanks!

Sharon R.

August 24, 2009

Ronnie,

Writer’s Relief has been a great support to my writing career. Over the years, I’ve gotten two (long) short stories and numerous poems published with Writer’s Relief’s help. One of my publications even won “Best Fiction” award. I rely on Writer’s Relief to research the best publications and editors for my work. I now have two poetry collections out and am getting ready to submit a manuscript of short stories. Thanks, Writer’s Relief, for keeping me on track!

Joan G.

July 21, 2009

Dear Ronnie and staff at Writer’s Relief,

Just as I clean my own house, do my own laundry, tend my own garden, etc., I sent out my work in the same sloppy way with the same haphazard results. By working with Writers Relief, not only have I gotten published many times in the last year, I’ve begun relationships with editors and magazines that I hope will last for years. Writer’s Relief opened many doors for me, and later when two publications wanted the same work, answered many questions. Professionals need professional help. What are you waiting for?

Again, many thanks,

Gwynn O.

May 28, 2009

Dear Ronnie,

I took a chance with the Writer’s Relief A La Carte service and was accepted for publication with the first piece I sent. I will be using them again. It greatly simplified the submission process. The editor even asked me if I had anything else. Great!

Mike F.

April 22, 2009

Dear Writer’s Relief,

After enjoying publication success as a full-service customer of Writer’s Relief, I brought out a book of poems. After a couple of years, with enough new works, I returned as an a la carte client. Due to the excellent targeting by Writer’s Relief, I received two acceptances in my first submission cycle and have enjoyed three more acceptances since then. The staff is unfailingly helpful, friendly, and encouraging, and the bottom line is, the Writer’s Relief system WORKS! I wholeheartedly recommend Writer’s Relief to any aspiring writer who wants the satisfaction of seeing his or her creative efforts rewarded by publication.

Robert C.

March 12, 2009

Dear Ronnie,

Writer’s Relief staff is supportive, enthusiastic, patient, knowledgeable, and friendly. The market is well-researched, [they give] an impeccable product, and they bring home the bacon. Special thanks to Kriste—it’s a pleasure to work with her.

Ken F.

February 14, 2009

Dear Writer’s Relief,

The submission list was invaluable! The structure, support, and encouragement was icing on an already delicious cake.

Judi G.

January 15, 2009

Dear Writer’s Relief,

I wanted to let you know that Minnetonka Review accepted one of my other stories, and Chautauqua just got back to me, saying they wanted to publish “Revelations” (already picked up by Zone 3), so I sent them two other stories to consider.

Thanks for all your help. I guess I’m on my way!

Vanessa H.

December 21, 2008

Ronnie,

Your a la carte service works well for me because it allows me to work at my own pace rather than try to meet a deadline. A la carte service also fits my budget.

Thanks again,

Ron T.

December 3, 2008

Dear Ronnie,

Writer’s Relief did exactly what they promised. In just a few days, my story was sent to 27 publications, followed by two acceptances and a request to see more of my work.

Thank you,

Mary R.

November 16, 2008

Dear Ronnie,

I am a new client with Writer’s Relief and am very pleased with the services rendered thus far. Writer’s Relief so effectively targeted the appropriate journals for my work that I received an acceptance within one week of mailing my story out! I see Writer’s Relief as a terrific tool for helping me to enter the marketplace and develop relationships with editors that I can eventually nurture myself—what a fabulous service. Thank you, Writer’s Relief!

Sincerely,

Vanessa H.

September 29, 2008

Many thanks to Writer’s Relief for their helpful suggestions re: sending my poems. I received three acceptances from mailing to 30 journals. This is an excellent result in such a competitive market. I appreciate the good marketing advice I was given by Writer’s Relief.

Ellen K.

April 17, 2008

Dear Ronnie,

I acknowledge that, without the aid I received from Writer’s Relief, I never would have identified The Distillery as a target publication for my work. In fact, I had never heard of any of the 30 publications for which Writer’s Relief provided mailing labels. Thank you again for your help.

Sincerely,

Chuck T.






Learn More
Live Chat Software

WAIT! BEFORE YOU LEAVE

wrlogo
This page was chock-full of great info...
and there's so much more here to help you meet your publishing goals!

Be sure to sign up for our FREE guides as you enter each site.

CHECK OUT
SELF-PUBLISHING RELIEF
For advice, marketing ideas, and step-by-step guidance through the self-publishing process!

CHECK OUT
WEB DESIGN RELIEF
Featuring smart ways to boost your online presence, build your author website, or improve your existing website.

CHECK OUT
WRITER'S RELIEF
For everything you need to know about writing, preparing, and targeting submissions to literary agents and editors!


Free Publishing Leads and Tips

Our e-publication, Submit Write Now!, will be delivered weekly to your inbox.

Join the 50,000+ writers who receive:

  • FREE submission tips
  • Hot publishing leads
  • Calls to submit
  • And much more!

Close this popup

Sign up Today!

BONUS: Receive a free copy of formatting guidelines—our gift to you!

We promise not to share your information.