Need help submitting your writing to literary journals or book publishers/literary agents? Click here! →

Client Testimonials

2006

Our author’s submission service assists writers of poems, short stories, essays, and book manuscripts in getting their work published. We work very hard to promote our clients’ work. Letters from clients follow below. (Originals with signatures available upon request.)

Read third-party testimonials on LinkedIn.

December 20, 2006

Dear Ronnie:

The value of Writer’s Relief was made clear to me when you managed to place both a short story and a suite of poems I had written ten years ago, when I was a young man fully committed to literature but unable to publish anything. My inability to get published back then made me despair of the writer’s life, and I moved on to other careers. The fact that the same writing rejected then was published now suggests that my problem was less a lack of talent than a lack of sense for the literary business. Writer’s Relief has become my business sense. Sometimes I wonder how different my life might have been had Writer’s Relief existed when I was younger and starting out. But that’s only a topic for fiction now.

Sincerely,

Scott S.

December 16, 2006

Dear Ronnie:

I got an agent!!! Just wanted you to know. I signed the contract today. Hallelujah!

Ronnie, you had warned me in your first letter that finding an agent for a memoir (when you’re not famous, which I’m not) would be close to impossible, but encouraged me to try. Well, Folio, the agency I signed with, was about the 56th agency on the list that I queried, so it took some determination. Writer’s Relief services were great—you really kept me on task.

So, THANK YOU!! I couldn’t have done it without you.

Sincerely,

Susan C.

October 27, 2006

Dear Ronnie:

Recently, my husband was returning from a business trip and happened to be seated on the plane next to a man who, after a few hours of conversation, finally admitted that his book had just hit The New York Times best-seller list. The man was slightly disappointed when, without hesitation, my husband did not act impressed, but instead replied, “Yes, publication is exciting, isn’t it? My wife is a published poet.”

Of course, with only five publications to my name so far, I am nowhere near the orbit of a best-seller list, but those words “published poet” mean more to me than I can describe. And the added benefit is that my family and friends think my poetry is somehow more serious and legitimate now that editors like it!

I have been writing for over 20 years, and just started sending out poems via Writer’s Relief this past spring—I had never wanted to brave the research and paperwork of the publishing process before. Five acceptances in eight months is so thrilling, and I’m sure there are more on the way, as I will use the professional services of Writer’s Relief for years and years to come.

For those of you who are worried about the fees, I did the math, and the cost of subscribing or buying samples of all those journals, plus the cost of your time doing the research (yes, your time is worth money) makes Writer’s Relief a bargain. Don’t hesitate to let them help you. You will love to hear others describe you as “a published poet”!

Sincerely,

Carol H.

October 20, 2006

Dear Ronnie:

I cannot say enough good things about Writer’s Relief. They are professional in their approach to my work. They are always on time and keep me on time and working. They challenge me to do my best work and their database of publication sources is excellent which allows them to help me target my work. As a result of my association with Writer’s Relief, I have been published in notable journals I would never have known to approach.

Sincerely,

Frank J.

October 17, 2006

Dear Ronnie:

In the past three months I’ve published two poems and one short story, items that would still be languishing on my hard drive had it not been for Writer’s Relief. I’m finishing a novel and don’t have time for the research and multiple submissions necessary to place small items in literary journals, and I hate keeping track of what was sent where and what happened to it. WR does this for me with structured procedures that even the terminally disorganized can follow. I fully expect that you will help me locate the perfect agent for my novel, which I now actually have time to complete.

Sincerely,

Susan W.

October 17, 2006

Dear Ronnie:

Because of your careful marketing strategies at Writer’s Relief, I have had more acceptances of poetry in the first five months with you than I have had in the past five years. That’s great and astounding, and I’m confident that there will be many more. However, working with you affects my writing and my sense of myself as a writer on deeper levels than just marketing. I feel that I am in a partnership, that I have advocates, and that someone is always waiting for and interested in my work. I know that I can turn to you for encouragement and advice. Because of all this, I’m much more motivated to realize old poems and send them out. I am also increasingly inspired with writing ideas for new poetry. Soon I’ll be asking you for help to place my prose as well. I only wish I had turned to you earlier for your support.

I am the first recipient of joint Fulbright and Collegium Budapest Fellowships in creative Writing. My poetry has been published or is forthcoming in dozens of journals now includingBirmingham Poetry Review, Carquinez Poetry Review, Earth’s Daughters, Ekphrasis, English Journal, Feminist Studies, Kalliope, Paterson Literary Review, Phoebe (both NY and VA), Poem, The South Carolina Review, South Coast Poetry Journal, Spitball, Sulphur River Literary Review, and Visions: International.

Thank you,

Susanna R.

October 17, 2006

Dear Ronnie:

Before Writer’s Relief, I was just another unpublished writer. I had solicited many literary journals with my fiction and all had sent back appreciative replies—my work was good, they said, but not quite right for them. That was a year and a half ago. Since then, my fiction has been accepted in four journals, my poetry in one. Most writers find that the hardest part about sending work out for publication is the time it requires. There are letters to write and addresses to find and editor’s names to spell correctly. Doing the research to find out what journals are best suited for what stories is a full-time job in and of itself, and one that many of us don’t have time to do. Writer’s Relief made it possible for me to continue writing without having to waste my time on the minutiae of getting published. The quality of my work is better now and, more importantly, journals around the country are recognizing it.

Sincerely,

Hannah S.

October 16, 2006

Dear Ronnie:

I am totally thrilled with the help I’ve received to date. My work has recently been accepted by Pilgrimage, Watchword Press, and The Hurricane Review, thanks to the efforts of Writer’s Relief. It’s been worth all the money I’ve invested as I could never have accomplished this on my own. Many thanks!

Sincerely,

Brenda L.

August 3, 2006

Dear Ronnie,

I was very impressed with how Writer’s Relief handled my work. After years of struggling with an agent who sent out a weak package, you motivated me to get my act together. I left my agent and chose to start all over again. I was skeptical.

Between your expert database, your organization, proofreading, and minor editing, I had three positive agents responses in the first 29 cold call letters to agents. Two agents wound up requesting the whole manuscript immediately.

Who says you have to know someone to get them to read your letter? I used to think that, and I knew lots of contacts to agents, but Writer’s Relief streamlined the process. I will keep plugging away because of this foundation.

Thank you,

Ina C.

July 11, 2006

Dear Ronnie,

I was so excited to receive an acceptance for publication of one of my poems from my first group of submissions!Poet Lore is a top journal that I might not have submitted to without your guidance, and it’s very nice to be able to wear their feather in my cap. Thank you and your excellent staff for getting me organized and for making a formerly daunting task enjoyable. From helping me create a distinctive cover letter, proofing my submissions, and choosing promising publications from my work, you have elevated my ability to get my work considered seriously. Even my rejections are predominantly positive and encouraging. This tangible process is invaluable, but it is the intangible process that inspires me on a daily basis. I have been writing for many years. I have been a Poet-Teacher in schools, and I have taught adult creative writing workshops. I only submitted rarely and took rejections hard. Your confidence that my poems were definitely publishable has reinvigorated my own confidence in my work. I’m in the process of completing a collection of poems that I will first submit to book contests this fall. I feel held and supported by our collaboration. Thank you for helping me reach this new level.

Please give Meg my regards, and a special thanks for always being available to answer my questions.

Warm regards,

Marilyn R.

July 11, 2006

Dear Ronnie,

I have been very pleased with Writer’s Relief. I am certain none of my stories would get published if it were up to me to market them. I love the process of writing but marketing is a whole different matter. The publishing side of the writing life is baffling and overwhelming—or would be without Writer’s Relief. Thank you for taking care of this and allowing me to do what I like best: writing.

Thanks so much for all your help.

Lisa Y.

July 6, 2006

Dear Ronnie:

The kind staff at Writer’s Relief offers a fantastic service that makes writing and attempting to get published possible while pursuing your other passions or just doing the job that pays for your food. Writing is something I am driven to do, but going through Web sites and researching publications is something I am, decidedly, NOT driven to do. It’s that type of “relief” that I have always needed.

Writer’s Relief has helped me get at least two of my short stories published, and getting an acceptance letter in the mail is a joy that no one can take away from you. It also gets those naggers off your back for a while!

So, I recommend Writer’s Relief, but I sort of hope writers won’t listen to me because I don’t like the competition.

Sincerely,

Leo K.

July 4, 2006

Dear Ronnie,

Since I started working with Writer’s Relief, not only has my number of acceptances grown, Writer’s Relief has also inspired me to keep to a creative discipline of writing for publication and to submit regularly on my own in conjunction with them.

Sincerely,

Michael J.

June 29, 2006

Dear Ronnie:

I became a Writer’s Relief client early this year, and my first submission has already been accepted by North Dakota Quarterly. I have taught at the Gotham Writers’ Workshop and have a B.A. from the University of Pennsylvania and an M.S. from Columbia School of Journalism. I have worked as a stringer for The New York Times, and my work has appeared in Epiphany, Newsday, and the op-ed page of The Advocate of Stamford, Connecticut, among other publications.

I have always disliked the submission process because of the time it takes away from writing. Now Writer’s Relief does the work for me. You prepare a first-class cover letter, copy-edit my work to perfection, select journals, prepare labels, and track responses. I only have to turn in my best work every other month, mail the submissions, and forward responses to Writer’s Relief. It takes all of the drudgery out of the submission process, which has actually become a joy.

Sincerely,

K. Nielsen

June 28, 2006

Dear Ronnie:

I have been a client of Writer’s Relief for over one year, and I find your services invaluable on editing and preparation of submissions to appropriate publications. Your assistance and guidance has enabled me in this time frame to place two separate works in literary magazines (Tertulia Magazine and Schuylkill Valley Journal Of The Arts). Your encouragement to maintain a constant flow of submissions has transformed my writing career and enabled me to produce a sizeable body of work in a relatively short period of time.

Sincerely,

Angela M.

June 28, 2006

Dear Ronnie:

The services provided by Writer’s Relief have enabled me to move on with my writing in ways that just weren’t possible before. I have a large backlog of stories that just sat for a very long time because I didn’t have the time (or frankly, the energy) to pull the submission lists together, do the letters, do the tracking, etc. Having my friends at Writer’s Relief take on these chores for me—with the added benefit of having my stories get a great final proofing scrub—means that my creative energies are now devoted to my writing. Plus, of course, I had the great fortune of having a story accepted for publication on the first round. Great incentive! One more thing—the Writer’s Relief staff is totally dedicated and totally professional. I really couldn’t ask for better support.

Sincerely,

Robert M.

June 28, 2006

Dear Ronnie,

When I would typically get discouraged and retreat, Writer’s Relief just charges on busily doing its work. And it sure didn’t hurt that my second response was an acceptance! This will be my first published fiction, and I find the world just a little friendlier as a result. Thanks for all your help.

Sincerely,

Mari Coates

June 28, 2006

Dear Ronnie:

Writer’s Relief has been great. After three years of sending out in a desultory way poems to publishers that I picked cold out of Poet’s Market and getting all rejections, I now have three poems published and will have a chapbook in six months. You helped me craft a lovely-looking submission letter and gave me approximately 25 new magazines to submit to as a result of marketing research that I never would have been able to do on my own.

Sincerely,

Louise B.

June 22, 2006

Dear Ronnie:

Writer’s Relief does a great job of helping a writer to get published. During the time I used their services, I had five short stories accepted for publication. I also had an agent at a top literary agency agree to represent my fiction novel. Writer’s Relief was instrumental in achieving these goals. If you’re serious about your writing, and serious about your literary ambition, you should give these people a try. I think any real writer would trade the money I spent for the result I received.

Sincerely,

Joe C.

May 9, 2006

Dear Ronnie:

Just a note of thanks—I saw an anthology submission deadline in one of your recent newsletters, submitted a piece I hadn’t thought about in quite a while, and had it accepted. Thanks for your help in getting my literary writing kick-started again.

Sincerely,

Matt S.

May 8, 2006

Dear Ronnie:

Just a quick note to let you know how excited I am about my first acceptance letter from a literary journal and to thank all of you for all your help. As so many clients before me have said, I’m quite sure I would never have succeeded in getting a work of fiction accepted for publication without your expertise and hard work. I’m looking forward to continuing to work with you for a long time.

Thanks again!

All the best,

Kathy P.

May 3, 2006

Dear Ronnie:

I want to tell other writers how grateful I am to have had the services of Writer’s Relief, Inc. for the past few years. In this difficult era for authors, Writer’s Relief has especially benefitted me in two ways: it has helped me find publishers for several short stories, and it has kept me sending my work out when I might otherwise have become discouraged and lazy. For these and other reasons, I heartily recommend Writer’s Relief.

Sincerely,

Lucy D.

May 1, 2006

Dear Ronnie:

Writer’s Relief is a treasure. Its highly professional, supportive, personable staff helps me prepare and submit work to the journals most receptive to my particular style. In the few months I’ve been partnering with Writer’s Relief, I’ve had three poems accepted for publication. I couldn’t be more pleased with their hard work on my behalf.

Sincerely,

Mark B.

April 30, 2006

Dear Ronnie:

Submitting poetry used to be a monumental task for me. Aside from the mind-numbing chore of setting up databases of publishers and submissions, the crazy-making reading dates were different for each journal. The whole thing was so overwhelming that I didn’t want to deal with it.

Then I heard about Writer’s Relief, and I thought, “Now, here’s something I can actually use!” Let me tell you, your name fits because it truly is a relief to have someone else handle all of these headache-inducing details.

I also appreciate you and your staff taking the time to answer my questions regarding strategy, such as the selection of poems and the order in which they are presented to editors.

More importantly, by using your submission service, I so far have had my poems accepted for publication in four well-respected journals: Wisconsin Review, Confluence, Steam Ticket, and Old Red Kimono. Obviously, I plan to continue using your services.

Thanks for all your help!

Sincerely,

Eli L.

April 29, 2006

Dear Ronnie:

This past week I received notification of another poem acceptance. Thank you! I signed up with you folks 21 months ago, and since then I’ve received 19 acceptances. This is almost one poem acceptance for every month you’ve helped me.

The fact that you shoulder most of the administrative work means I stay on schedule with my submissions. I love not having to think about where to send my work. More importantly, I am freed up to write more. This past year I even finished a book that will be published in September (Knit One, Haiku Too with Adams Media out of Boston.)

I’m not certain I would have stayed with the publishing part of writing if I hadn’t found you to help me out.

Thanks again,

Maria F.

April 29, 2006

Dear Ronnie:

Writer’s Relief has been of more help to me than I even imagined it could be. The staff combines professionalism and efficiency with a wonderful sense of caring personally about one’s future in writing. They have helped me publish ten or more poems in magazines across the country so that I now feel that great sensation of having my material “out there.” I will recommend Writer’s Relief to all writers; their expertise is unmatched.

With gratitude,

Margaret B.

April 28, 2006

Dear Ronnie and the entire Writer’s Relief staff:

Thank you so much for all yoru encouragement over the last year. Just when I was ready to quit, you gave me the support to keep going, “one more ‘no’ is a step closer to a yes,” and like a baby who keeps picking herself up after falling down as she learns to walk, I kept picking myself up with a helping hand from all of you. And now I have just received notice that my essay has been accepted by The MacGuffin. Not only is this exciting but it has given me the reassurance that I can leave my “day job” and go full steam ahead with my ghostwriting business. I currently have two clients and am signing a third next week, which will take me through the end of the year. Again, thanks for your great service and your helping hand.

Cordially,

Loren S.

April 28, 2006

Dear Ronnie:

I have been working with Writer’s Relief since August of 2004. You have submitted seven of my stories over the past 20 months to over 200 hard copy literary journals. I have had two short stories accepted for publication. The first story received 52 rejections before acceptance and the second, 29. Those are the numbers, but Writer’s Relief represents much more than numbers. Writing can be a solitary endeavor. I always feel a lot of support working with your staff. I feel I have a professional partner helping me on the path, in addition to my friends, family, and two writing groups.

Writer’s Relief gives my story a final edit, picks the journals for submission, drafts the cover letter, and provides me with an administrative system that makes submissions to multiple journals simple. In addition, Writer’s Relief tracks all my returns along with any comments made by editors. The return documentation along with your rock-steady support allows me to see real progress in publication even when months go by without an acceptance. I can’t imagine accomplishing what you have done for me on my own.

With many thanks,

Richard H.

April 28, 2006

Dear Ronnie:

I’m happy so far with Writer’s Relief. Among the things that impressed me are:

*Writer’s Relief’s very professional, friendly staff.

*Your process is very well thought out.

*Your process saves me time, both in research and in soliciting publications.

* Writer’s Relief comes up with such a comprehensive list of sources for my fiction.

Sincerely,

Bob M.

April 28, 2006

Dear Ronnie:

When I signed up with Writer’s Relief less than a year ago, I had completed one novel and was working on a second. I was aware that the odds are stacked against fiction writers, and so I decided to attempt to build a portfolio by submitting excerpts of these novels. I had no clear idea of where to go, and my experience in medical writing was absolutely of no help. I bought copies of the usual writers’ market publications and set everything aside while I went on with my regular duties as an academic surgeon.

A classmate in a summer writing festival recommended Writer’s Relief, and I signed up. So far, Writer’s Relief has prepared submissions of five short stories. The first three were accepted for publication during the first round. Writer’s Relief did all the work of identifying suitable markets and preparing query letters. Their periodic deadlines kept me on task and on target. So far, I have had stories accepted for publication in Amoskeag, North Dakota Quarterly, and Wisconsin Review. Later this summer, armed with these publication credits, I plan to ask Writer’s Relief to help me find an agent for the novels. While that may still prove a difficult task, I have no doubt that Writer’s Relief is up to it.

These are highly professional people who give individual attention. They respond within hours, often immediately, to E-mails. When you phone them, your queries are immediately addressed.

I recommend them highly, with no reservation whatsoever.

Sincerely,

Carol S.

April 28, 2006

Dear Ronnie:

As a contributing writer for Main Street News, author of weblog Lam(b) and a poet with poems in the current issue ofAmoskeag: The Journal of Southern New Hampshire University, I’ve been really happy with Writer’s Relief. Your staff is professional, efficient, and on point. In my first round, I’ve already had success with two poems upcoming in Sulphur River Literary Review.

I’m able to get more writing done now since I don’t have to spend time and energy keeping track of editors, cover letters, reading periods, and databases with my submissions. You take care of that for me now, freeing me up to spend more of my time writing and revising.

I look forward to continuing to work with Writer’s Relief.

Best,

Lisa M.

April 27, 2006

Dear Ronnie:

I appreciate the smart, efficient service from Writer’s Relief. I’d sent my stories out over and over in the past to no avail.

Thanks to you guys, I’m publishing my first—and the first of what I hope is many.

Sincerely,

Joe H.

April 19, 2006

Dear Ronnie:

You could have knocked me over with an envelope when the first response I received from the barrage of submissions was an acceptance! Writer’s Relief is filled with top-notch professionals. Every question I have is promptly answered, and having a deadline is a great motivator!

Thanks,

Tory H.

April 17, 2006

Dear Ronnie:

Your proofreading and marketing were immensely helpful in getting my work published three times in the last three years. As a busy professional, I never could have done it without your support. I hope to work with you again in the near future when I am settled and have more time.

Thank you,

Thomas L.

April 6, 2006

Dear Ronnie:

On December 19, 2001, I became a client of Writer’s Relief. Since that time I have had 12 stories published, one Pushcart Prize nomination, and the inclusion of one of my stories in W.W. Norton Anthology of Sudden Fiction. I am the poster child for Writer’s Relief!

When organizations talk of their workers or clients as “family,” it usually rings false. In the case of Writer’s Relief, I’ve actually felt it to be true. Your professionalism, your immediate attention to details, phone calls, and E-mails, and your guidance and encouragement has made me feel that I am not only part of a family, but part of a family that is highly functional! Being on the receiving end of Barbara’s counsel and appreciation has been especially meaningful.

My heartfelt thanks for all that you and your staff do. I will continue to refer my students and colleagues to Writer’s Relief.

Warm Regards,

Stephanie W.

March 31, 2006

Dear Ronnie:

You continue to offer the most remarkable services to writers. My own personal and professional experience notwithstanding, the breadth of your commitment is stunning. For me, as a longtime working professional writer who has successfully supported himself and his family through writing, there were still things I needed to do, personal projects I hoped to realize. You did it for me, helped me move into writing, which means everything to me. I now have a terrific well-established agent who has a novel of mine out to publishers. I have another manuscript about to go to my agent, and yet another in the wings, but it’s the direction you all gave me which set not only the tone but the standard. And then to be able to get your regular incredibly informative and supportive E-mailings about the life of writing reminds me that we’re all still growing and developing. Which is as it should be.

My warm best wishes,

George M.

Ronnie Smith
Writer’s Relief

Dear Ronnie:

This is a fan letter. No. Maybe it’s a love letter. Whatever. Anyhow, I want to thank you for all the good work you and your staff at Writer’s Relief have done for me. Because of your efforts I have had seventeen poems accepted for publication in the past year, and one story, (also several heart-stoppingly terrific rejections from editors of magazines I’d kill to appear in, asking to see more work). The poems will appear in Feminist Studies, the Harbinger, Southern Humanities Review, Green Hills Literary Lantern, Tomorrow, Midwest Review, The Kerf, Sojourner, Chiron, Licking River Review,and Wind. The story appeared in Brownstone Review this spring.

Your service has inspired me to get really grabby and has freed up some time for me to apply for grants and prizes as well, with some encouraging results. I placed second in the White Rabbit and Potpourri Poetry Contests and was a finalist for the River Styx, New Letters, and Writer’s Digest Poetry Awards and the Writer’s Digest and Negative Capability Short Fiction Awards.

But that’s not all. You are there, at the end of a very accessible phone line, whenever I have a panic attack, a question of etiquette, a triumph to brag about, or am just generally confused and disoriented. You’re milk and cookies. You’re apple pie. You’re the tops.

Gratefully and with love,

Susan T.

Ronnie L. Smith, President
Writer’s Relief

Dear Ronnie,

Now that I’ve had my first acceptance of a short story submitted by Writer’s Relief, I wanted to thank you for all the work you have done.

I have consistently been impressed with the quality of work at Writer’s Relief. All my submissions have been very professional, a much higher quality of appearance than I could provide. You and your staff have closely monitored the status of all my submissions. I particularly appreciate your ability to provide custom cover letters to editors who have asked to see additional work.

I have received substantive feedback from several of the editors to whom you submitted my materials. This has led to revisions of two of my pieces and helped me greatly in my ongoing writing. It has also allowed me to enter into a dialogue with these editors as I send new work. None of this would have been possible on my own, because I never could have submitted at the level necessary to be successful, or at least receive helpful feedback.

Once again, thank you for your excellent work and I look forward to our continuing relationship.

Sincerely,

Bill V.

Ronnie L. Smith, President
Writer’s Relief

Dear Ronnie:

I am very pleased with your work. You are prompt, courteous, and complete. I have had a few poems selected for publication and now have a better idea of what it takes to satisfy these finicky editors.

I recommend your firm highly to my fellow struggling want-to-be’s.

Thanks Again;

Bob B.

Writer’s Relief

Dear Ronnie:

There really is no way, short of writing a novel, to say what a relief Writer’s Relief has been to me as a writer.

For 30 years, I was absolutely convinced that I could market my work as well as anyone and save a few bucks.

I saved a few bucks and blew 30 years. Not one single acceptance.

How’s that for value? Living proof that nothing gets you nothing.

Yes, Writer’s Relief does cost something, but I’m finally getting results. That’s because they know what to do on my behalf.

Six poems and one short story accepted in nine months.

Let’s see, at that rate, over 30 years time, I would now have some 240 poems and 40 short stories in print. And with those kinds of credits, there would also be quite a few novels also published, as well as more than a little bit of money made.

Ahh, me, had I only known 30 years ago.

Ronnie, you run a first-rate service.

Sincerely yours,

B. R. Hamlin

Ronnie L. Smith

Dear Potential Writer’s Relief Client:

I am writing this letter to express my appreciation for Writer’s Relief, and to highly recommend Writer’s Relief services to others. Before finding Writer’s Relief, I had been submitting my poetry and short stories on my own for several years. I had gotten a few poems published by small publications. My practice as a psychologist, my work as a mother, homework helper, and my writing practice, take up most of my time, so I was very sporadic and disorganized in my submissions.

I found the advertisement for Writer’s Relief in Poets and Writers Magazine. Since I started using Writer’s Relief services, I have had my work accepted by numerous literary magazines, and have received very useful and positive feedback from other journals. This feedback has helped me to become more motivated in submitting further material, and has made me feel more confident. The New Yorker Magazine wrote “very compelling work” on one of my submissions, even though they said they had no room for the poem. On my own, I would not have submitted to The New Yorker and would have missed the opportunity for their positive response.

I have also learned to accept “rejection” letters as part of the process. One personal essay was “rejected” by several places. In the “rejection” letters, I had received feedback about cutting it down in length, and lessening the number of characters in the piece. As I began to revise the piece to fit the feedback, I received an acceptance letter for the work from a very solid feminist publication. I learned a lot from this.

Writer’s Relief is meticulous about editing my work and submitting it in a timely fashion. They are expert in tracking submissions and updating them. Staff members are extremely helpful, efficient, good at editing, and knowledgeable about the marketplace. Their correspondences are timely and detailed. They are willing to talk with me about any questions or concerns I have regarding my work and their services. They are personable. They are worth the fees. I am actually delighted to have the opportunity to recommend their services.

Sincerely,

Doris F.

January 17, 2006

Dear Ronnie:

I can’t say enough good things about you and the staff at Writer’s Relief who have given me a built-in support system of proofreaders, cheerleaders, and office staff—all of whom are dedicated to helping me get my work out there. My writing is finally getting seen and published.

Sincerely,

Mary M.

January 8, 2006

Dear Ronnie:

I’ve been a client of Writer’s Relief for almost three years with constant appreciation for your meticulous and cordial work.

Starting from a base of a chapbook and no journal credits, I now have ten poems accepted and am circulating my first book for publishing, secure that the biographical details are no longer a negative. To be honest, it was a year before I received the first acceptance, but they have been coming regularly since then.

There is no question that I would never have had this success if left to my own devices. I would never have had the time to send poems to 30 or 60 journals six times a year, and more important, I wouldn’t have known which ones to contact if I had had the time. When do the journals read, what themes are they emphasizing, etc.? Nor would I have kept the voluminous records of my contacts easily accessible on www.wrelief.com.

To conclude, I am happy to recommend Writer’s Relief.

Cordially,

Liza S.

January 6, 2006

Dear Ronnie:

Writer’s Relief has been a godsend! Before Writer’s Relief, I rarely sent my work out because it was so overwhelming to sort through the thousands of journals in Poet’s Market for appropriate places to submit, not to mention trying to keep track of their reading schedules. Now only three months after submitting my first two packets with the help of Writer’s Relief, six of those 12 poems have been accepted for publication, and in higher-quality journals than I would have dared to submit to on my own (e.g., Nimrod, South Carolina Review, descant). I can’t thank you enough for this wonderful service.

And I really mean that—THANK YOU!

Best,

Ellen S.

January 6, 2006

Dear Ronnie:

I am truly appreciative of what Writer’s Relief has done for me by relieving me of the burden of paper work, proofreading, formatting, etc. and by making contact with all kinds of publications with which I was unfamiliar. I have one story accepted for publication at this point. I am hoping for more.

Sincerely,

Caroline H.

January 5, 2006

Dear Ronnie:

Your staff members are affirming, capable, and friendly. They have worked wonders polishing up my work. I recently got my first acceptance!

Sincerely,

Rosalyn O.

January 5, 2006

Dear Ronnie:

Writer’s Relief has fulfilled exactly what I needed! Your staff is friendly, accessible, and professional. Taking care of when and where to send my work has not only freed me up so I can write but also expanded the possibilities of my work being published. Checking the mail, I am now excited, whether it’s an acceptance or a rejection, just knowing I’m getting my stuff out there in a way that I certainly wasn’t prior to discovering Writer’s Relief. (I wasted a lot of time trying to figure out the wheres and whens and found it daunting). Being published is a dream come true and thanks to your help, this is only the beginning.

Sincerely,

Suzanne W.

January 5, 2006

Dear Ronnie:

Working with Writer’s Relief is like switching on an amplifier—more of the audience can get the sound.

Working with Writer’s Relief is like trading in your walking shoes for roller skates.

If you want a few apples, you have to shake a few trees. But I’d rather write about apples and I’m so glad that Writer’s Relief is there to help me work the orchard.

Sincerely,

Kathy C.

January 4, 2006

Dear Ronnie:

I joined Writer’s Relief two years ago. I had published two poems in the United States and a couple in Australia—not much considering I’ve been writing poems since childhood and had earned my MFA back in 1998. I just couldn’t get the details in order—the envelopes, the Poet’s Market book, the stamps. I signed on to Writer’s Relief as part of a promise to myself that I would publish, that my work deserved to be “out there.” That was some ten or 12 packets of poems, stories, and essays ago. Now, I’ve almost 30 publications to my credit, not including the magazines I had to turn down because a poem was already accepted. I even got up the courage to send out some short stories that have been lying around, as well as an essay, and they’ve all been accepted as well. I get supportive little notes from some editors telling me they like my style, or something like that. I knew my stuff was ready to go out into the world. Now it is, and my life is very different because of this. Rather than letting my MFA gather some strange existential dust of hesitation, I’m using it. I don’t think I’d be doing this if it weren’t for Writer’s Relief.

Sincerely,

Laura H.

January 4, 2006

Dear Ronnie:

I’m very happy!

Best,

Art H.

January 4, 2006

Dear Ronnie:

The staff at Writer’s Relief is unfailingly professional, precise, prompt, and helpful. Their strategy for publication is intelligent and comprehensive. Within a few cycles of being your client, I had a poem published in The Carquinez Review—a top-level journal. (It’s a delight sharing the pages of a publication with Les Murray, one of my favorite poets.) I heartily recommend your services to any poet interested in wider exposure and acceptance.

Sincerely,

William G.

January 4, 2006

Dear Ronnie:

I am thrilled with the work you have done for me. I just got my first publication in four years thanks to Writer’s Relief. I’m convinced that it’s targeting the right markets that makes the difference. I found Writer’s Relief through a member of my writing workshop. She submitted three stories through your service and got three publications. I’ve submitted only two pieces so far and one was published. I didn’t get anything like these results on my own.

Thank you for all you do and keep up the good work,

Laura H.

January 4, 2006

Dear Ronnie:

It saves me tons of time to have Writer’s Relief research and print out for me where to submit my poems and books.

Sincerely,

Paul B.






Learn More
Live Chat Software

WAIT! BEFORE YOU LEAVE

wrlogo
This page was chock-full of great info...
and there's so much more here to help you meet your publishing goals!

Be sure to sign up for our FREE guides as you enter each site.

CHECK OUT
SELF-PUBLISHING RELIEF
For advice, marketing ideas, and step-by-step guidance through the self-publishing process!

CHECK OUT
WEB DESIGN RELIEF
Featuring smart ways to boost your online presence, build your author website, or improve your existing website.

CHECK OUT
WRITER'S RELIEF
For everything you need to know about writing, preparing, and targeting submissions to literary agents and editors!


Free Publishing Leads and Tips

Our e-publication, Submit Write Now!, will be delivered weekly to your inbox.

Join the 50,000+ writers who receive:

  • FREE submission tips
  • Hot publishing leads
  • Calls to submit
  • And much more!

Close this popup

Sign up Today!

BONUS: Receive a free copy of formatting guidelines—our gift to you!

We promise not to share your information.