fbpx

Need help submitting your writing to literary journals or book publishers/literary agents? Click here! →

Category Archives: Reading Recommendations

8 Fantastic YA Novels Adults Will Love Too | Writer’s Relief

Submit To Our Watersedge Poetry Chapbook Contest
$500 Cash Prize + Publication!

DEADLINE: Wednesday, October 31st, 2018

While Young Adult novels are typically geared toward readers in the 12 – 18 age range, over 55% of YA readers are adults!  In fact, YA is one of the most profitable genres in publishing today. At Writer’s Relief, we know a good story is a good story, no matter what genre it’s in. And readers of any age are sure to love these YA gems:

Recent YA Books That Will Appeal To Adults Too

Turtles All the Way Down by John Green

In the latest book from best-selling novelist John Green, sixteen-year-old Aza must solve a murder, fight to keep her best friend, and navigate resurfacing feelings for a childhood crush…all while struggling with her own debilitating anxiety.

 

Children of Blood and Bone by Tomi Adeyemi

This fantasy novel is inspired by West African mythology. Zélie has only one chance to strike back against a ruthless monarchy and return powerful magic to her people, all with the help of a rogue princess.

 

One of Us Is Lying by Karen McManus

Fans of Gone Girl and The Breakfast Club are sure to love this pulse-raising tale of what happens when five high school students enter detention and only four come out…that is, only four come out alive.

 

The Beauty That Remains by Ashley Woodfolk

Three teenagers have always counted on music, but when tragedy strikes each of them, music isn’t enough anymore. Logan, Shay, and Autumn are brought together by happenstance—and one band—in this beautiful, diverse tale of working through grief.

 

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

Lara Jean has never had a boyfriend, but she does have crushes, to whom she writes letters—all of which are mysteriously mailed on the same day. Suddenly, her imaginary love life becomes a little too real. Bonus—this romance novel is now a series and a popular movie!

 

Alex and Eliza by Melissa de la Cruz

Can’t get enough of the smash Broadway musical Hamilton? Drawing from historical journals and letters, de la Cruz brings to life the true (and swoon-worthy) love story of Alexander Hamilton and Elizabeth Schuyler.

 

The Poet X by Elizabeth Acevedo

In this contemporary novel-in-verse, Xiomara is a shy slam poet in Harlem who’s struggling to find herself and her voice—and maybe her first love—outside of her parents’ church. Bit by bit, she comes out of her shell and discovers the importance of her voice.

 

The Hazel Wood by Melissa Albert

Mystery and fairy tales converge in the life of seventeen-year-old Alice, who’s always been plagued by bad luck. When her grandmother dies and her mother is abducted—by the villain in her grandmother’s stories—her luck gets much, much worse.

 

QUESTION: Which YA novels have you fallen in love with over the past few years?

Submit to Review Board

8 Books by Hispanic Authors to Celebrate Hispanic Heritage Month | Writer’s Relief

We are celebrating Hispanic Heritage Month (September 15 – October 15) here at Writer’s Relief! Hispanic and Latino authors have contributed richly to our culture through their customs, legacies, art, achievements—and especially their writing. This month we spotlight eight books by Hispanic and Latino authors you should be reading! 8 Books To Celebrate Hispanic Heritage… Continue Reading

12 Amazing Books That Have Been Banned Or Challenged In The U.S. This Year | Writer’s Relief

One of literature’s best qualities is its ability to start difficult conversations. But at Writer’s Relief, we know that very same quality has led to books being challenged or even banned. Banned Books Week (September 23-29) celebrates these books and the freedom to make our own choices about what we want to read. The theme… Continue Reading

Famous Authors And The Dogs That Inspired Them | Writer’s Relief

  August 26 is National Dog Day—a day to honor the furry friends who can make us howl with laughter and warm our hearts (and our laps!). Dogs serve tirelessly, love faithfully, and even provided inspiration for their famous author owners! To celebrate this doggone wonderful day, Writer’s Relief brings you some well-known authors and… Continue Reading

7 Children’s Books Dads Will Love To Read To Their Children | Writer’s Relief

Instead of getting Dad another tie or barbecue apron for a Father’s Day gift, Writer’s Relief has a better idea—get your favorite dad or father-figure a book he can share with his children! Bonding over a book is a great way for dads to help their kids develop a love of reading. And we think… Continue Reading



YES, IT'S MY LUCKY DAY!
Sign me up for
FREE Publishing Leads & Tips
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

WHY? Because our insider
know-how has helped
writers get over 18,000+ acceptances.

FREE Publishing Leads and Tips! Our e-publication, Submit Write Now!, delivered weekly to your inbox.
 
  • BEST (and proven) submission tips
  • Hot publishing leads
  • Calls to submit
  • Contest alerts
  • Notification of industry changes
  • And much more!
close-link


STOP! BEFORE YOU GO...
Sign me up for
FREE Publishing Leads & Tips
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

WHY? Because our insider
know-how has helped
writers get over 18,000+ acceptances.

FREE Publishing Leads and Tips! Our e-publication, Submit Write Now!, delivered weekly to your inbox.
 
  • BEST (and proven) submission tips
  • Hot publishing leads
  • Calls to submit
  • Contest alerts
  • Notification of industry changes
  • And much more!
close-link
Yes! Send My Free Guide!

Get Your FREE Goal-Oriented
Writer Guide!

We’ll send the link to this handy guide filled with
expert advice and smart tips so you can start
reaching your writing goals today!

 
Bonus: Stay updated! We’ll email you weekly links
to more great articles featuring the best writing
strategies and insider info!
close-link
Yes! Send My Free Guide!

Get Your FREE Goal-Oriented
Writer Guide!

We’ll send the link to this handy guide filled with
expert advice and smart tips so you can start
reaching your writing goals today!

 
Bonus: Stay updated! We’ll email you weekly links
to more great articles featuring the best writing
strategies and insider info!
close-link
Live Chat Software